Ashman claims top honour at WAAFL Awards Tue, September 4, 2018 - 9:04 AM

On Monday 3 September the Crown Ballroom was filled with over 900 guests to celebrate the 2018 WA Amateur Football League season.

One of the biggest attendances in recent years saw many awarded for their outstanding seasons.

Scarborough’s Joel Ashman took out the night’s top award as he received the CJ Jamieson Medal as the A Grade Best and Fairest player for 2018.

A first-time winner of the award, Ashman polled 20 votes in eight games including five best on ground performances. Ashman finished runner up for the award in 2017 falling short by just one vote.

Ashman finish two votes ahead of Nicolas Reid from the North Beach Football Club, while a three-way tie for third position saw Trinity Aquinas’ Jamie Birrell and Dene White and Scarborough’s Marc Re finish on 16 votes.

Andrew Fisher from the Kingsley Football Club won the TR Howard Medal as the B Grade Best and Fairest winner. The win saw Fisher claim a fourth straight association Best and Fairest after claiming the C1 medal for the past three seasons.

The top colts award went to Oskar Tothill from the North Beach Football Club who claimed his first NK Donaldson Medal. Oskar finished eleven votes clear of second placed Samuel Bourne from Curtin University Wesley. Oskar polled votes in ten matches including an impressive seven best on ground performances.

For the first time the night featured Women’s Awards as 2018 saw the launch of our Women’s competition. The A Grade Women’s Best and Fairest was a tie between Rebecca Viney from North Beach and Jessie Barker from Curtin Uni Wesley. Rossmoyne’s Phoebe Cahill took out the Best and Fairest award for the Women’s B Grade while Clair Edwards kicked 23 goals for the season to be awarded the Women’s A Grade leading goal kicker.

The Men’s A Grade Leading Goal Kicker award went to Kingsway player Michael Wood who kicked 61 goals for the year. Kingsley’s James Del Borrello won the B Grade Leading Goal kicker award with 74 goals for the year.

The Ron Webster Memorial award for the senior champion club was awarded to Jandakot Football Club who had an impressive year with their league, reserves and colts’ sides all making the Grand Final. The TK Naylor award for the Colts champion club was awarded to Secret Harbour. The champion club awards are calculated by both on and off field points with points awarded for each win, meeting attendance, payments, paperwork submitted on time. Points are deducted for send offs and for match day fines.

The LA Tetley award for best player of the 2018 State Program was awarded to Matthew Ah Siu from Bullcreek Leeming for his performance across the two state matches which saw him awarded Best on Ground on both occasions. Ian Wright from the Kalamunda Football Club won the administrator of the year while Secret Harbour’s Russell Swanson won the Ken Armstrong Senior Community Coach of the year Award.

This year we had three new inductees into the Hall of Champions which recognises the greatest WA Amateur Footballers or those legends of the game who started their careers in amateur football. This year we welcomed Wembley Football Club’s Don Baker, Bayswater Football Club’s Doug Frame and University Football Club’s Greg Maskiell.

Congratulates to all our winners as we conclude another season of Amateur Football.


Full List of Winners:

A Grade (CJ Jamieson Medal)

Joel Ashman


A Reserves

Klinton Williams

Curtin Uni Wesley

B Grade (TR Howard Medal)

Andrew Fisher


B Reserves

Brent Mcpherson

Swan Athletic


Jayden Woods


C1 Reserves

Jake Roberts



Jayden Magro

High Wycombe

C2 Reserves

Jack Coppen

Warnbro Swans


Jake Tregear


C3 Reserves

Neill Madeira



Jesse Musika

Cockburn Lakes

C4 Reserves

Mitchell Cornell



Andrew Jonson

Curtin Uni Wesley

D1 Reserves

Jesse Wilson

Curtin Uni Wesley


Blake Collins



James Hay-Hendry

North Beach

E3 (TIE)

Philip Shaw



Daniel Wilson


Women’s A (TIE)

Jessie Barker

Curtin Uni Wesley


Rebecca Viney

North Beach

Women’s B

Phoebe Cahill


PSC (N.K Donaldson Medal)

Oskar Tothill

North Beach


Ben Marmion



Elliott Laurence



Darcy Sunter

Mosman Park


Luke Hinchliffe



Administrator of the Year: Ian Wright- Kalamunda

WAAFL Coach of the Year: Russell Swanson- Secret Harbour

Midway Ford Club Umpire of the Year: Harrison Marino- Bullcreek Leeming

Midway Ford Panel Umpire of the Year: Jarrod Hodge 

TK Naylor Award - Champion Colts Club: Secret Harbour

Ron Webster- Champion Senior Club: Jandakot

Leading Goal Kicker A Grade: Michael Wood- Kingsway 61 Goals

Leading Goal Kicker B Grade: James Del Borrello- Kingsley 74 Goals

Leading Goal Kicker Women’s A Grade: Clair Edwards- Curtin Uni Wesley 23 Goals

LA Tetley Award - Best Player State Programme: Matthew Ah Siu- Bullcreek Leeming



Enter your e-mail and subscribe to our newsletter.