Hall of Champions Inductees Tue, September 7, 2021 - 1:49 PM

The Hall of Champions was established in 2010 to recognise individuals who have made a significant contribution to amateur football in Western Australia since inception in 1922.

The Champion category honours individuals who have achieved outstanding success and/or made a significant contribution in the Perth Football League. The High Achiever category honours an individual who participated in the Perth Football League and have achieved outstanding success and/or made a significant contribution to the game of Australian football.

On Monday 6 September 2021, Alan Quartermaine was inducted into the Hall of Champions as a High Achiever, along with Raymond Okely and Chris Perkin as Champions.

To see the list of Hall of Champions visit Perth Football League History - Hall of Champions



Alan Quartermaine made his senior debut for the Katanning Wanderers in the Upper Great Southern Football League at just 15 years of age.

He was recruited to East Perth in 1969 and played 4 League games while studying an Economics degree at the University of Western Australia.

He left East Perth a year later to concentrate on his studies and joined the University Football Club. He played at University from 1970 to 1971, playing in two Grand Finals including their 1970 A Grade Premiership. He earned state selection in both 1970 and 1971.

Alan returned to East Perth in 1972 playing seven games and became a regular part of the league side from 1973.

Between 1974 to 1976 he played 3 games of State Football for Western Australia.

In 1975 he won the Sandover Medal with 16 votes ahead of Peter Spencer, Ross Glendenning and Stan Nowotny on 14 votes.

He played 108 league games for East Perth and kicked 180 goals between 1969 and 1979.

After retiring as a player, he served as General Manager of Subiaco Football Club for two years and was the assistant coach under Ron Alexander at East Fremantle. He is also a current board member at East Perth, serving in his 12th year.


                                                                                           RAYMOND OKELY | CHAMPION

Raymond Okely’s amateur football resume makes him one of the most accomplished players in the League’s history. A decorated career that saw seven League fairest and best awards and ten club fairest and best awards over 20 years, and 280 games for Osborne Park and Wanneroo.

Raymond started his career in 1948 for Osborne Park where he went on to play 130 games. He dominated B1-Grade, where he won both the League’s and his club’s fairest and best on three occasions (1953, 1954 and 1956). Osborne Park did not record a win in 1956 and he still managed to be crowned as the best player in the League, which was a true testament to his talent.

In his early days at Osborne Park, he kicked 14 goals in a single game against Teacher’s College. He represented the WAAFA state team against South Australia in 1954 and at the Hobart carnival in 1956.

Raymond then made the move to Wanneroo in the Sunday League where he played 150 games between 1957 and 1967. The accolades did not stop here as he won the club’s league fairest and best on six occasions (1957, 1958, 1959, 1960, 1962) and Reserves fairest and best in 1966. He also continued to be recognised as the most dominant player, winning the Sunday National Football League fairest and best in 1961 and 1962 for League and in 1966 for Reserves.



Recognised as the most decorated player at North Beach Football Club, Chris Perkin was central to the success during the Bill Duckworth era.

In all 288 games, he was tough and uncompromising. He was the perfect disciple for the Duckworth gospel, leading from the front and so often responding when his team needed something special.

Whether playing through the midfield or forward, the powerfully built utility player was someone that Duckworth could trust to recognise the clutch moment in a big game and lift his teammates through an inspiring action, especially as the club’s captain between 2002-2005.

He won 10 A-Grade premierships under Duckworth (1999, 2001, 2002, 2004-2010) – the only player to do so - and is one of only a handful of North Beach players to be twice selected as an All-Australian amateur player (2002 and 2004).

Revered by the North Beach faithful as “the king” he won four Brian Kiely Medals as the club’s A-Grade fairest and best player (1994, 1996, 1999 and 2003), and in three seasons was the club’s leading goal-kicker (1999, 2000 and 2003).

Enter your e-mail and subscribe to our newsletter.